RECEIVING AND EDITING, from within the Commissary location
When a new order comes in, you will see it appear on the “Inbound Orders” page in the “Open” status. Designated users at the commissary kitchen will receive an email about the new inbound order (can be setup under the Vendor Settings).
If the order is changed at the receiving location after it was originally placed, the order will be updated in real time and an email will be sent . Each email will have a CSV attachment that will give you the option to manually compile any orders (outside of the MarginEdge system, using Excel), if needed.
If you have chosen to Allow Order Updates, the location placing the order can continue to make edits anytime until you click “Process Order” or "Ship Order".
Click on the Order to open it up for editing and processing.
Note a few things in the image below. You can:
- See which location and which user placed the order
- Adjust the "Delivery Date"
- Delete an item from the order using the red box on the right
- Add another item (if a substitution is needed or last minute request) using the “Add a vendor item” button
- Edit the quantity ordered
Once you have completed any needed edits, you can:
- Read and add any notes if you want to explain any adjustments you have made (Notes included become a chain of notes in the order)
- See the estimated Order Total
- Process, Ship or Close the Order (as explained below)
PROCESSING AND CLOSING
You have two options at the bottom of an Order: Process and Ship. These will behave according to the Vendor settings you have chosen.
If you have "Allow Order Updates" enabled:
- When you click “Process Order”, this locks the order and the unit who placed the order cannot make any further changes. They will see the status as having changed to “In Process” and it prevents them from editing it any further.
- When you click “Ship Order”, this changes the order status to “Shipped”. This is the final confirmation for the unit who placed the order to indicate it is ready.
- If you do NOT allow the receiving units to update their orders, then "Process" and "Ship" will functionally work the same for you and you can skip the step of "Process Order" all together if you so choose.
If you have "Allow Modifications to Shipped Orders" enabled:
- When you click "Ship Order", the receiving unit may make any final edits needed, and they are the only one with the power to Close the order.
- If you would like your orders to automatically close 24 hours after they have been "Shipped", please reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org to request enabling the auto-close configuration.
- If you do NOT allow these modifications, then clicking "Ship Order" marks it as Closed and it cannot be edited any further.
If you're confused by these terms, please review the Vendor Settings, under "Additional Settings".
Things to Note:
- You can do "Process" or "Ship" in bulk by checking multiple order from the Inbound Orders screen and clicking to adjust all of them at once.
- You can simply click “Ship” if you don’t want use the intermediary stage of “Process”. Using the “Process Order” button is entirely optional and may or may not work with your operational flow.