How do I add or remove users in MarginEdge?

You can add a brand new user to the system, or you can give an existing user access to additional units within your company.   The steps are similar, but select the right option below to jump to specific instructions:

Adding a brand new user to MarginEdge 

Giving an existing user access to an additional unit

And to remove a user, see Removing a user's access from one or all units

 

Adding a brand new user to MarginEdge:

1.  On the main menu, select Setup > Users, and then click the “+ Invite a New User” button.

2.  Enter the user's email address, and then select their "role".     The role refers to the level of access the user will have - "Restaurant Admin", "Accountant", "Manager", or "User".    For detailed information about the various roles, visit What are the different user permissions in ME?.

Note:  All users can add a new user with the same level of access or with any more restricted access.  For example, a Restaurant Admin can add a user with any role, while a Manager can add a user with either Manager or User access only.

3.  If the new user will have access to all locations for your company, check the box for "Invite the user to all Restaurants for this Company".   If this is unchecked, then you are setting up this user to have access only to the location in which you are currently logged in.

4.  Click "Invite".     
 
5.  Set the "Login" name for the new user.    This is the username they will use to login and can be any name not already in use.  Most common is to use their first name + last initial (such as “rebeccad”) or first initial + last name (such as "rdavidson"), but these are just suggestions.   You can also use their email address for their login name.   Regardless of what you choose, if you enter one that's already in use by someone else, you'll be stopped when you hit the "Invite" button at the end. 

6.  Enter the user's first and last name, and then click the "Invite" button to finish.   The user will immediately receive an email with a link to setup their password.

 

Giving an existing user access to an additional unit

1.  On the main menu, select Setup > Users, and then click the “+ Invite a New User” button.   (In this case, "new user" means a user that is new to the unit.)

2.  Enter the user's email address, and then select their "role".  The role refers to the level of access the user will have - "Restaurant Admin", "Accountant", "Manager", or "User".    For detailed information about the various roles, visit What are the different user permissions in ME?.

Note:  All users can add a new user with the same level of access or with any more restricted access.  For example, a Restaurant Admin can add a user with any role, while a Manager can add a user with either Manager or User access only.

3.  If the user should have access to all locations for your company, check the box for "Invite the user to all Restaurants for this Company".    If this is unchecked, then you are setting up this user to have access only to the location in which you are currently logged in.

4.  Click "Invite".   Assuming this user does already have access to one or more other units, then once you click "Invite" you're done.   If instead, you see additional fields of "Login", "First Name" and "Last Name", then the user email you are using does NOT already have access to ME.
 

Removing a user's access from one or all units:

1.  On the main menu, select Setup > Users, and then find the user in the list.   Click anywhere on the row for that user to go to the "Edit a User" page for the user.   

2.  At the bottom right of the page, click on the "Remove Access" button.

3.  You will be presented with a confirmation box.   The box has an option on it to "Remove the user from all Restaurants for this Company."   Click the box if you are removing the user from all locations, and leave unchecked if you are removing access from the current location only.

4.  Click the "Remove Access" button to confirm.   The user will immediately lose access.

There is no 'delete user' step needed in MarginEdge.   Once you have removed access for a user from all units, they can no longer log-in to MarginEdge.   

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.